A Sad Day For Slayer Fans

May 3, 2013 § 2 Comments

I returned home from grocery shopping today to learn that Slayer guitarist, Jeff Hanneman, had passed away. It’s a sad day for all us old time Slayer fans, Hanneman along with his fellow band members cultivated a new sound in the early 80s, one that helped change the entire Metal genre and helped give us the incredible range of metal we hear today. They were and still are ground breakers and were years ahead of their time. I remember in the mid eighties when I was 14 calling up to a friend of mine, I’d received a very excited phone call from him earlier in the day. He’d just been in the local music store and bought “Hell Awaits” on vinyl. We must have listened to that album a dozen times that night and it blew our minds, we had never heard anything like it before. It was funny because my friends surname is Sinnott and at the end of “Hell Awaits” on Vinyl there is a classic 80s backwards message but when it plays normally and not backwards it came out sounding like they were saying “Sinnott, Sinnott, Sinnott…”, I remember nearly falling off the chair laughing when my friend heard this for the first time, he thought for a second they were calling him. Happy memories and ones that I and many others would not have if it were not for Jeff Hanneman and his fellow band members. Here’s to you Jeff, be at peace where ever you are and tonight I drink a beer in your memory!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to A Sad Day For Slayer Fans

  • Adrian Scanlan says:

    Cool man… keep going like this and we’ll eventually have your memoirs!

  • Kman Krautzman says:

    Gday man. You know I have say I feel everything you had to say. I grew up in the 80’s too and can still remember the very first time I heard a Slayer tune on a local community radio show from Show no Mercy. Which I went and ordered that week from my usual record store as an import. Been listening ever since. My entire teen years were lived to the sounds of Slayer and Megadeth tunes. Truly a sad day.Raising a beer in his honor here too….or three đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Sad Day For Slayer Fans at Che Dean's Weblog.

meta

