What To Do with My Old Dell Dimension 8400 – Update

January 16, 2011 § Leave a comment

I made the decision and I installed Ubuntu 10.10 wiping WHS in the process. So I now have an Ubuntu PC with a 1.5TB Hard drive and an Asus Nivdia 8800GT graphics card, the CPU is a bit old being a Prescott DT but it runs nice and fast with Ubuntu 10.10. Interestingly when I first installed Ubuntu I had the dreaded old low resolution problem. I had a quick look on the forums but couldn’t figure it out because I knew that my 8800GT worked and detected the same monitor a few months back while in another PC. Just as I was about to pack it in for the night to come and write this blog, I spotted an old VGA to DVI connector sitting on my desk so I said I’d try swapping that for the newer one I had connected to the 8800GT. Low and behold it worked, as soon as I restarted the PC I had my monitors native resolution of 1440×900. I couldn’t believe it when I saw it, it was that simple, if only I had tried that a few months back instead of going and making a new Xorg.conf file for a different PC with the same problem. So let that be todays lesson, always remember to try the simple solutions first.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What To Do with My Old Dell Dimension 8400 – Update at Che Dean's Weblog.

meta

