Guild Wars

January 2, 2011 § Leave a comment

Guild Wars is one of my favorite mmorpgs and it’s the one I’m currently playing. I started playing it about four years ago but drifted in and out over that time playing WoW, Lotro and AoC but I always end up back in Guild Wars. There is just something about it, it might be the fantastic atmosphere that the games graphics and music produce or the way the game involves you in the story line. For me when I’m playing GW it feels like I’m in a book, taking part in an epic adventure, it’s very cool and I rarely experienced that in WoW even though I’m also a big fan of WoW.

Within the next twelve months we are going to see the release of Guild Wars 2 so I am currently getting as much as I can finished off in the original game. With the release of the Eye of the North expansion for Guild Wars we saw the introduction of the Hall of Monuments. In the Hall of Monuments you can place the trophies you have earned in game such as elite armor, pets, miniatures and weapons. The hall will then be transfered into Guild Wars 2 when it comes out which I think is a great idea, you get to keep a record of your achievements from the original game. So if you haven’t played Guild Wars yet give it a go, you won’t regret it and one of the great things about the game is you don’t have to pay a monthly fee. You just buy the game and off you go. The original three games that make up the Guild Wars world are Prophecies, Factions, Nightfall and the expansion is called Eye of the North.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The good news for Linux users is that I have tested this game many times and it seems to run very well under WINE on a system with 4GB of ram and an Intel Q6600 cpu using an Nvidia 8800GT graphics card. In fact it seems to run faster than it does under Windows.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Guild Wars at Che Dean's Weblog.

meta

